10 thoughts on “Mind Map: Schools of Buddhism

  1. I’ve only just started on my Buddhist journey properly, although I’ve been wandering around trying to take the first step practically all my life. It’s hard to know which way to go, especially if the choice of guides is rather limited!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the Pure Land School of Buddhism. It’s the most culturally-accessible form of Buddhism to Westerners that is still rooted in theory (unlike Zen, which is more popular but in my view too simplistic).

      A great place to start would be Happiness (here: http://jameskennedybeijing.wordpress.com/2011/11/30/book-happiness/ )

      Buddhists say that all schools of all religions are just different doors to the same house. They say all schools are equal, and that we should choose one and stick to it.

      Like

  2. I would like permission to use your schools of Buddhism chart in a teachers support document for a Grade 12 Course on Religious Diversity in Manitoba, Canada. Please advise if possible.

    Like

    1. Please don’t use this in an educational context — it’s very misleading, and the level of (inappropriate) detail is in inverse proportion to the depth of understanding.

      Like

Talk to me