Ingredients of An All-Natural Peach

I enjoyed reading the discussion that last week’s Artificial vs Natural Peach spawned on Tumblr and Facebook. People discussed the meaning of “natural” versus “domesticated”, and debated whether humans have really “improved” fruits in the last few millennia or just evolved them into giant candy.

I hope that people now see the irony in the title, “Ingredients of an All-Natural Peach”. The fruits we grow aren’t natural at all—but I still love to eat them!

Ingredients of an All-Natural Peach POSTER

jameskennedymonash.wordpress.com

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be posting more Ingredients posters onto this blog. I have a whole stash of them lined up, ready for you to eat…

I’m also looking for your ideas. What would you like to see the “ingredients” of next? Vanilla? Tea? List them in the comments below.

Stay up-to-date by following @VCEasy on Twitter, where I tweet about Chemistry for visual learners. These posters usually appear there first.

Enjoy🙂

10 thoughts on “Ingredients of An All-Natural Peach

  1. OMG! Like, call the Police or the President or SOMETHING! LOL!

    Oh well, I eat organic peaches so the ones I eat don’t have all of that fake stuff in them.

    I’ve got a friend who happens to be very big in the food industry and he describes organic foods as one of the best ways to separate a fool from her (or his) money in a century. He laughs all the way to the bank.

    Like

  2. Tasty🙂

    I noticed benzaldehyde is listed twice. Perhaps you meant to write benzyl alcohol the second time? I know it acts as a natural preservative in many fruits and teas, not sure about peaches though.

    Also, I wonder how vitamin B5 (pantothenic acid) would qualify as a flavour. It’s in almost every food, but I’m not sure about its contribution to taste. As far as I know it’s not listed as an E-number.

    Like

  3. Are you thinking of doing an apple? It would be the greatest statement, because of how culturally significant the apple has been, including it being a stand in for wholesomeness. I wonder which variety would be best? Classic, like Red Delicious, or more modern, like Honey Crisp? I think the red delicious would pack a bigger punch. Wonderful work!

    Like

  4. Oh my god please do the camellia sinensis plant (tea). You can just do the plant, or do each of the types of tea (white, green, oolong, black), or whatever.

    Also, one for the cocoa bean would be beautiful. OH GOD THERE ARE SO MANY!

    Pomegranates! Edamame! Carrots! Avocados! Tomatoes! Blackberries! Raspberries! Blueberries! Grapes! Olives! Mushrooms! Peanuts! Almonds! Cashews! Walnuts! Chestnuts! Wasabi! Horseradish! Potatoes! Eggplant! Wakame! Fish! Beef! Lamb! Deer!

    I could so go on… so I’ll stop…😀

    Like

Talk to me

